An error has occurred

Cuyo Islands | Visit Mimaropa

Cuyo Islands

The archipelago of the Cuyo Islands are located north of the Sulu sea, to the east of the main island of Palawan. They compose around 40 islands, many of which are uninhabited. Cuyo Island, in the south of the archipelago, is home to Cuyo town. The total population in the islands according to a census in 2000 is 18,257.

About Cuyo

Cuyo Island is a group of 45 islets with a total land area of 50 square miles. It lies south of Mindoro and between Northern Palawan and Panay. The biggest island in this group is Cuyo with an area of 22 square miles and is about 9 miles long. Cuyo is divided in three municipalities, namely Cuyo, Agutaya, and Magsaysay. Cuyo is the oldest town in Palawan. Cuyo has a culture of its own which was preserved since more than 350 years. In the year 2008, the total population of the Cuyo Island is almost 25’000. Cuyo is divided into two island groups. Up north is the Quiniluban group to which Pamalican island is part and where the 89-hectare, ultra-exclusive Amanpulo Resort belongs. To the south are the Cuyo islands, where the three municipalities, namely Cuyo, Agutaya, and Magsaysay are located. Magsaysay is the location of the Anino Retreat, also exclusive but in another sense.


There are two distinct seasons in the Philippines generally distinguished by the rains and the direction of prevailing winds. The amihan winds from the north begins in November and lasts until March and is typically drier. The habagat winds blow from the south beginning in June lasting until October. This also coincides with the monsoon/typhoon season. Cuyo lies to the south of the typhoon belt that pummels much of the archipelago every year. Most rain comes in the form of short, heavy downpours that bring a pleasant coolness along with the lush, green vegetation. During the dry amihan season there are periods of hot, dusty or windless days. Aside from the windless April and May doldrums when its a few degrees hotter, temperatures are always the same regardless of season being within the equatorial zone.